top of page

National Merit Scholarship Program Semifinalists Named

EVANSTON, Ill. — Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) on Sept. 13 announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalist in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

Semifinalists must fulfill several requirement to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship.

California semifinalists include (alphabetically by city):

Alhambra: Kailey K. Ogawa-Monroe, Mark Keppel High School

Cupertino: Seiji Otsu, Cupertino High School

Eastvale: Lily Takahari, Eleanor Roosevelt High School

El Segundo: Eamon Ito-Fisher, Vistamar School

Fremont: Isabella P. Morimoto, American High School; Andrew T. Kinoshita, Mission San Jose High School

Huntington Beach: Jessica M. Sakamoto and Akira Suzuki, Huntington Beach High School

La Jolla: Rita M. Kimijima-Dennemeyer, The Bishop’s School

Monrovia: Nathan Nakamura, Monrovia High School

Montebello: Mitchell U. Saisho, Schurr High School

Oakland: Sophia Maxine Kojima, Head-Royce School

Pleasanton: Stacy K. Shimanuki, Amador Valley High School

Rolling Hills Estates: Kai Y. Kato and Miho M. Tanaka, Palos Verdes Peninsula High School

Sunnyvale: Hikari N. Sakai, Fremont High School

Thousand Oaks: Ronan Kurata, Thousand Oaks High School

Vacaville: Corey Kato, Vacaville High School

Villa Park: Joseph M. Niizawa, Villa Park High School

For more information, visit

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page