top of page

10th Class of California Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

SACRAMENTO — Gov. Jerry Brown and First Lady Anne Gust Brown, along with the California Museum, announced the 10th class of inductees to the California Hall of Fame on Oct. 3.

The newest class of inspirational individuals will join 96 Californians previously inducted for exemplifying California’s spirit of innovation.

The new inductees are acclaimed author Isabel Allende; film icon Harrison Ford; baseball legend Tony Gwynn; distinguished artist and social justice advocate Corita Kent; former U.S. secretary of defense and nuclear deterrence expert William J. Perry; groundbreaking journalist and former first lady of California Maria Shriver; music business pioneer Russ Solomon; and celebrated actor and activist George Takei.

George Takei

George Takei

“These individuals exemplify the unique and boundless creativity of California,” the governor said. “Their work has enriched the lives of others and remains an inspiration to all Californians.”

Inductees, who will attend in person, and family members of posthumous inductees will receive the Spirit of California medal from the governor and first lady in the official state ceremony on Wednesday, Nov. 30, at 7 p.m. at the California Museum, located at 1020 O St. in Sacramento. In addition to the ceremony, inductees will be commemorated with an exhibition of artifacts highlighting their lives and achievements, which opens to the public at 10 a.m. on Thursday, Dec. 1, at the California Museum.

“I’m deeply humbled and grateful to Gov. Brown and Anne for inducting me into the Hall of Fame Class of 2016,” said Shriver. “When we created the Hall of Fame 10 years ago, I never dreamt I would be honored alongside so many people I’ve been awed by and admire. Like millions of others, I came to California to create my own life and fulfill my dreams. I hope that my course in life might inspire others, just as I’ve been inspired by California and those who have gone before me.”

“I am a proud second-generation Californian, humbled to be honored by a state singular in its beauty, diversity and dynamism,” said Takei. “To be inducted to join the inspiring trailblazers in the arts, industry, academia, sports and political affairs is an honor beyond words. This is truly the Golden State.”

Inductees have made remarkable achievements in science, philanthropy, sports, business, entertainment, literature, technology, activism and politics.

“California is the land of dreamers and innovators, where anything is possible,” said Caroline Beteta, president and CEO of Visit California, the California Hall of Fame’s title sponsor. “This year’s inductees are diverse pioneers who embody the Golden State’s iconic lifestyle and culture of possibility, which inspires people from all over the world to visit.”

“The California Museum is honored to celebrate this 10th class of truly remarkable Californians,” said Richard Costigan III, chair of the California Museum’s Board of Trustees. “We are also thankful to Visit California for their continued support of the California Hall of Fame, a celebration of the Golden State and those who achieve the California dream.”

Members of the public are invited to view the arrivals of inductees and ceremony attendees on Nov. 30 from 5:30 to 7 p.m. in a public viewing area located in front of the museum on the corner of 10th and O streets. Immediately following the arrivals, a live webcast of the induction ceremony will be streamed on the museum’s website at beginning at 7 p.m.

0 views0 comments


bottom of page