top of page

Mutual Support

Former Assemblymember Al Muratsuchi (right), the Democratic candidate in the 66th Assembly District, and his wife, Hiroko Higuchi, were joined by former Assemblymember Warren Furutani, a candidate in the 35th State Senate District, and his wife, Lisa Abe, at a rally, barbecue and precinct walk in Torrance that launched Muratsuchi’s general election campaign on Sept. 10. The theme was “Take Back the 66th,” referring to the fact that the Republican incumbent, David Hadley, unseated Muratsuchi in 2014. Furutani is running against a fellow Democrat, former Assemblymember Steven Bradford, for the seat being vacated by Democratic State Sen. Isadore Hall, who is running for Congress.

Several elected officials came to show support for Muratsuchi’s return to the Legislature, including (from left) Assemblymembers Jimmy Gomez of Los Angeles and Mike Gipson of Carson and Reps. Janice Hahn of San Pedro and Ted Lieu of Manhattan Beach. Hahn is running for the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors.

From left: Hermosa Beach City Councilmember Stacey Armato, Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell of Long Beach, and State Treasurer John Chiang, a candidate for governor.

Other elected officials present were Assemblymember Richard Bloom of Santa Monica, Torrance Mayor Pat Furey, Torrance City Councilmember Tim Goodrich, former Torrance Mayor Dee Hardison, Hermosa Beach Mayor Hany Fangary, former Hermosa Beach Mayor George Schmeltzer, Redondo Beach City Councilmembers Bill Brand (candidate for mayor) and Christian Horvath, Manhattan Beach City Councilmember Amy Thomas Howorth, Palos Verdes Library District Board of Trustees Vice President Kay Cooperman Jue, El Camino College Board of Trustees member Cliff Numark, Torrance Unified School District Board of Education members Terry Ragins and Mark Steffen, and Water Replenishment District candidate Jim Kennedy.

They were joined by Torrance Democratic Club President Jimmy Gow, 66th Assembly District Democratic Council Co-chair Varo Asorian, LAX-Area Democratic Club President Alfred Lay, Palos Verdes Democratic Club President Lynn Bommer, Beach Cities Democratic Club President Bobbi Buescher, Progressive Democratic Club President Julian Burger, Carolyn Fowler of the L.A. County Democratic Party, San Pedro Democratic Club Vice President Stacey Michaels, and Westchester-Playa Democratic Club Vice President Sheila Mickelson.

Photos by J.K. YAMAMOTO/Rafu Shimpo

0 views0 comments


bottom of page