L.A. Asian Pacific Film Fest to Celebrate 33 Years (Part 3)

“Mixed Match” by Jeff Chiba Stearns

Visual Communications (VC), the nation’s premier Asian Pacific American media arts center, announced its program of outstanding films and events for the upcoming 33rd edition of the Los Angeles Asian Pacific Film Festival (LAAPFF), running April 27 to May 4.

VC celebrates 33 years as Southern California’s largest and most prestigious film festival of its kind. This year’s slate features over 180 films from both Asian Pacific American and Asian international artists. The festival has presented close to 4,000 films by Asian Pacific American and Asian international talent. This year, a record 45 feature films and 139 shorts from over 750 submissions will be showcased throughout the eight-day fest.

Special Presentations

The following special presentations include discussions, films, performance art, and media installations that will provide dialogue, reflection, inspiration and encouragement.

• “Yellow,” directed by Chris Chan Lee. A normal evening turns into a wild and desperate scavenger hunt for eight high school friends in this coming-of-age dramedy. When the group rallies to help a friend who was robbed, the lines between adolescent and adult are blurred in this 1997 classic.

Grand Jury, Short Film Awards

“The Lockpicker” by Randall Okita

This year’s 33rd LAAPFF competition line-up for Grand Jury Awards for North American feature films is rich with stories and insights from important and nuanced perspectives from creative talent across the spectrum.

“Norman Jones” by Mike Sakamoto

Competition narratives — “Cardinal X” (Angie Wang), “Chee and T” (Tanuj Chopra), “Columbus” (Kogonada), “Gook” (Justin Chon), “I Can I Will I Did” (Nadine Truong), “The Lockpicker” (Randall Okita), “Norman Jones” (Mike Sakamoto), “Wexford Plaza” (Joyce Wong), “Window Horses” (Ann Marie Fleming)

“Ghost Magnet Roach Motel” by Shinpei Takeda

Competition documentaries — “95 and 6 to Go” (Kimi Takesue), “A Time to Swim” (Ashley Duong), “Finding Kukan” (Robin Lung), “Ghost Magnet Roach Motel” (Shinpei Takeda), “Mele Murals” (Tadashi Nakamura), “Mixed Match” (Jeff Chiba Stearns), “Resistance at Tule Lake” (Konrad Aderer). “Save My Seoul” (Jason Y. Lee), “Unbroken Glass” (Dinesh Sabu), “Who Is Arthur Chu?” (Yu Gu and Scott Drucker)